The Australian Curriculam 2015 Education Essay

Published: Last Edited:

This essay has been submitted by a student. This is not an example of the work written by our professional essay writers.

The development of the Australian Curriculum is guided by the Melbourne Declaration on Educational Goals for Young Australians, adopted by the council of state and territory education ministers in December 2008. The Melbourne Declaration emphasises the importance of knowledge, understanding and skills of learning areas, general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities as the basis for a curriculum designed to support 21st century learning.

The Australian Curriculum describes a learning entitlement for each Australian student that provides a foundation for successful, lifelong learning and participation in the Australian community. It acknowledges that the needs and interests of students will vary, and that schools and teachers will plan from the curriculum in ways that respond to those needs and interests. The Australian Curriculum acknowledges the changing ways in which young people will learn and the challenges that will continue to shape their learning in the future.

The basically COAG is council of Australian Governments. The members of COAG are the Prime Minister, State and Territory Premiers and Chief Ministers and the President of the Australian Local Government Association. COAG has a strong record of implementing reforms that have improved the lives of all Australians.

COAG is committed to improving education standards and the quality of schools. The education reform agenda is being implemented with unprecedented levels of investment in Australia's schools, and is making an important contribution to promoting social inclusion and Closing the Gap in Indigenous disadvantage, so that everyone has the opportunity to learn and work.

Improving Teacher Quality

Bringing Our Schools Into the 21st Century

Improving Literaracy and Numeracy

Better Outcomes for Low Socio-Economic Status School Communities

Better Information About Schools

Working Towards a National Curriculum

Supporting Students Through Supporting Schools

Supporting Students with Disabilities

Helping Students Make the Transition from School to Further Education, Training or Employment

The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) is the independent authority responsible for the development of a national curriculum, a national assessment program and a national data collection and reporting program that supports 21st century learning for all Australian school students.

ACARA's work is carried out in collaboration with a wide range of stakeholders, including teachers, principals, governments, State and Territory education authorities, professional education associations, community groups and the general public.

The Australian Curriculum is being developed by the Australian, Curriculum and Assessment Authority (ACARA) in three phases.

Phase 1: Mathematics, Science, History and English

Phase 2: Geography, the Arts and Languages

Phase 3: Health and Physical Education, Technologies, Economics, Business and Civics and Citizenship

In May 2009, the Interim National Curriculum Board (NCB) published The Shape of the Australian Curriculum: English, Mathematics, Science and HistorHYPERLINK ""y. The shape papers are foundational documents that have guided the development of the Australian Curriculum for each learning area/subject in the first phase.


TheShape of the Australian Curriculum: English, proposed that F-10 curriculum in English be organised around three interrelated strands:

Language: The Language strand involves the development of a coherent, dynamic and evolving body of knowledge about the English language and how it works.

Literature: Students learn to interpret, appreciate, evaluate and create literary texts such as narrative, poetry, prose, plays, film and multimodal texts, in spoken, print and digital/online contexts.

Literacy: Students apply their English skills and knowledge to read, view, speak, listen to, write and create a growing repertoire of texts.


The Shape of the Australian Curriculum: Mathematics,proposed that the F-10 mathematics curriculum:

Addresses key concept skills and processes for progression in mathematics

Is described in three content strands: Number and algebra, statistics and probability and measurement and geometry

Embeds the proficiencies of understanding, fluency, reasoning and problem solving

Assumes teachers will make use of available digital technology, including calculators in teaching and learning contexts


The Shape of the Australian Curriculum: Science, proposed that the F-10 science curriculum:

Is organised around three interrelated strands: science understanding, science inquiry skills; and science as a human endeavour

Provides the basis for learning science that engages students in meaningful ways and prepares students to use science for life and active citizenship so that they can function effectively in a scientifically and technologically advanced society .

Provides a foundation for specific learning pathways leading to senior secondary science as well as science and engineering courses at university and technical and vocational education and training.


The Shape of the Australian Curriculum: History proposed that the F-10 history curriculum:

Is organised into two strands - historical knowledge and understanding and historical skills, described year by year

Ensures Australian history will be taught within a world history context, and not limited to world history from an Australian perspective

Divides years 7 -10 into four historical periods

Includes overviews and depth studies

Recognises the importance of the process of historical inquiry

Integrates concepts of historical understanding, including evidence, continuity and change, cause and effect, empathy, significance, perspectives and contestability

The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) has finalised the English, mathematics, science and history strands as the first of three phases of the Australian Curriculum will be implemented in years K-10 schools between 2011 and 2013. Other learning areas still being developed in the Australian Curriculum will continue to be taught from the ACT Curriculum Framework Every Chance To Learn until the Australian Curriculum for these learning areas is progressively completed.

School curriculum planning and documentation continues to describe scope and sequencing, content detail and resourcing. The Australian Curriculum will provide guidance on achievement standards. Pedagogy, assessment and reporting remain the responsibility of the classroom teacher, school faculty or team and individual school.

Currently Year 11/12 course frameworks are developed by the Board of Senior Secondary Studies and used by schools to develop courses. They provide a framework for developing content and assessment. This will remain the case until the implementation of the senior years Australian Curriculum.


Schools, states and territories are responsible for implementation of the Australian Curriculum. Each state and territory is developing its own implementation plans, along with support programs for teachers.

While the process of implementing the Australian Curriculum is a matter for each state and territory, ACARA will assist through provision of materials about the intent of the Australian Curriculum and by facilitating any activity that would benefit from national coordination.

ACARA has worked with school and curriculum authorities to prepare a Summary of Implementation Plans from 2011 which indicates the plans of systems and sectors in each state and territory to implement the Australian Curriculum.

To learn more about the implementation plans and programs in your state or territory please click on the relevant link below, or contact your local school or curriculum authority.