Personal development Plan and reviewing performance

Published:

This essay has been submitted by a student. This is not an example of the work written by our professional essay writers.

Personal Development Planning has been described as "a structured and supported process undertaken by an individual to reflect upon their own learning, performance and/or achievement and to plan for their personal, educational and career development". [1] Personal Development Plans are concepts that enable us do what we have always wanted to do-learn effectively, spot our weaknesses before they become problems and increase our personal satisfaction. PDP's offer us a way to build our skills to help us find a way through the difficulties that one would face while embarking upon the chosen career path.

By reflecting on your skill needs over time and recording the training that is successfully completed a comprehensive set of information can be built up that can help you, inter alia to:

initially be a more effective researcher

be a more independent, autonomous and effective learner

plan and manage your career

decide on future career paths

create appropriate CVs

have evidence with which to apply for (or retain) membership of a Professional or Statutory Body related to your profession

apply for promotion 

Through this document I shall create a Personal Development Plan for learning new skills, new angles, new ways of dealing with people and my career growth. 

Where I am now?

With thirty months of experience in the banking domain, involving 12 months of management experience, I decided to come to United Kingdom to pursue a Master's in Business

Administration. My employment track record coupled with an MBA qualification would enable me expand my horizons and enlarge my future prospects

Where I want to be?

The most important project I am currently involved in is to be successful in my own life. It would be worth spending some time under this section to pen down my key aspirations from a short as well as a long term perspective

Long Term Goals:

My chief goal in life is to be a successful Investment banker by the year 2020.

To achieve financial independence by the year 2020 wherein the assets created by me are sufficient to pay off the expenses arising in my liabilities column.

Medium Term Goals:

To complete my MBA by June 2010

To complete my Chartered Financial Analyst course by June 2011 which would enable me gain the amount of knowledge required to succeed in the financial services sector and hence march on towards securing a dream job in Investment banking related domain.

To accomplish my CFA charter by the year 2013

Short Term Goals:

To complete my P.G.D.M.S qualification by September 2009

To pursue a part time job in financial research in the United Kingdom by September 2009 which in turn would enable me gain the required amount of work experience to obtain my CFA charter

How will I get there?

It's time to review and develop those skills which are essential and will play a key role in enabling me achieve my objectives

Short and Medium Term Goals

Pursuing an MBA, CFA Level 1 as well as securing a job in the financial services industry in a span of one year would call for a professional, determined and a focussed approach. The skills/qualities I would need to get there may include:

Time Management: I often find myself running out of time. Quite often just because I don't prioritise my work, I end up working very hard and spending time on issues which are not of strategic importance. I can overcome this by creating a to-do list in a structured order starting with the task which has the highest value. This would ensure I don't get caught scrambling to get something critical done as the deadline approaches.

Memory Improvement: Out of every 100 students who appear for their CFA exams every year, only 35 percent students manage to pass the examinations. This is mainly because the CFA syllabus is vast. In order to overcome this constraint and ensure that I remember the structure of information, facts and theories I shall spend some time learning memory improvement techniques such as:

The Number/rhyme technique

The number/shape technique

The alphabet technique

The journey technique

Concept of Memory maps

Long Term Goals

Investment banks want employees with a combination of strong analytical and interpersonal skills. Some jobs lean more towards one skill set than another (e.g. brokers need to be mainly sales people). A typical job of an equities analyst requires both analytic and interpersonal skills. The skills involved include:

Key Skill Area

Requirement

People skills:

High

Sales skills:

Medium

Communication skills:

High

Analytical skills:

High

Ability to synthesize:

High

Creative ability:

High

Initiative:

Medium

Work hours:

50-120/week

From the skills listed above I need to incorporate Analytical skills and creative ability which will decide my success in my chosen field

Resources that I may require

These would include:

CFA Schweser Material

CFA institute study material

Access to libraries

Access to internet to browse websites like Bloomberg.com, Investopedia.com

Financial resources to fund my MBA and CFA fees

Milestones and Checkpoints

I shall pen down the milestones and checkpoints in this section to track my progress

Task

Checkpoints

P.G.D.M.S Qualification

To hand over all the assignments as per the prescribed deadline.

MBA qualification

September 2009: Secure enough financial resources to pursue the MBA qualification

December 2009: Enrol for the Top up MBA program

Jan-June 2010: Pursue MBA studies

CFA Qualification

CFA Level 1

June 2009: Obtain the Schweser CFa material

1st July 2009: Start the level 1 studies

20th august 2009: Pay the examination fees

30th November 2009: Complete the CFA studies(exams on 6th December 2009)

CFA Level 2

1st January 2010: Obtain Level 2 exams material

15th January 2010: start the level 2 studies

June 2010: CFA level 2 exams

CFA Level 3

August 2010: Obtain the CFA Level 2 study material

January 2011: Pay the Level 2 examination fees

June 2011 : Appear for Level 2 Examinations

Through the above I have made an attempt to design milestones which are specific and measurable, meaningful as it will help me achieve my objectives of pursuing a career in finance, challenging as such a busy schedule will stretch my abilities but at the same time I need to be flexible to cope with the difficulties that I may face in my journey and not be afraid to alter my plans according to the changed situations.

References

1www.qaa.ac.uk/academicinfrastructure/progressFiles/guidelines/progfile2001.pdf

http://www.mindtools.com

http://www.careers-in-finance.com/ibskill.htm

Task 2: APD

Introduction

(1)Goals are rarely without obstacles.  If they were easy to attain and without obstacles, you would likely already be doing them, right? In this section I shall spend time on discussing the obstacles I may face and the importance of conducting a self review.

Acknowledging and overcoming my obstacles

The first step to overcome obstacles is to acknowledge them. I project following obstacles that may come in my way

Obstacle 1: Finding a part time job in financial Services domain in this recession.

(2)According to forecasts by the CBI, the employers group, 11000 jobs could be cut from the financial services industry over the three months from March to June. The job market is witnessing an increasing number of candidates applying for jobs when compared to the number of jobs available. Securing a job in the financial services sector in this recessionary phase would be a difficult ploy.

Solution: Though the industry is currently recruiting experienced candidates in the financial services domain, the industry is always in search of confident and passionate individuals who have good interpersonal skills and awareness about the latest trends in the financial industry. Building a suitable CV and following financial newspapers and bulletins would allow me face the interview process confidently.

Obstacle 2: Stress

[3]The most commonly accepted definition of stress (mainly attributed to Richard S Lazarus) is that stress is a condition or feeling experienced when a person perceives that "demands exceed the personal and social resources the individual is able to mobilize." In short, it's what we feel when we think we've lost control of events. Balancing the vast CFA curriculum along with my MBA assignments may lead into stressful situations which may hamper my progress

Solution: Though I have a busy schedule, balancing it with some form of entertainment would keep my stress levels low. Growing in self confidence at every stage would be another way of keeping my stress levels low.

Obstacle 3: Speed Reading

(4) Speed Reading can help you to read and understand written information much more quickly. This makes it an essential skill in any environment where you have to master large volumes of information quickly, as is the norm in fast-moving professional environments. I have a slow reading speed which would mean it will take me a longer time to complete my curriculum.

Solution : I can improve my speed of reading by Increasing the number of words read in each block, Reducing the length of time spent reading each block and And reducing the number of times your eyes skip back to a previous sentence.

Monitoring Performance & Self Review of Personal Development Plans

(4) Self evaluation involves establishing meaningful goals and then evaluating their own performance. A review of my performance against the objectives established in my personal development plan would give me an opportunity to identify areas where further development is possible. The emphasis would be on improving the future performance. The importance of Monitoring Personal development plans is outlined below:

Magic of Mistakes: Mistakes happen and infact contrary to popular perception , that's a good thing. As the great UCLA baseball coach John Wooden once said, the team that makes the most mistakes wins. [5]Reviewing myself against PDP objectives would give me an opportunity to restrain from repeating the mistakes I have already made and learning from them.

Act as a yardstick to enable individuals review their progress

Recognise and relate to own strengths and weaknesses

Personal SWOT Analysis.

Personal SWOT Analysis can enable you develop your career in a way that takes best advantage of your talents, abilities and opportunities. With a little thought it can help you uncover opportunities that you are well placed to take an advantage of.

Strengths:

A focused approach to every task

Clear Career Goals

Ability to multi task and work under pressure

Professed as dependable and responsible by employers

Decision maker

High confidence levels

Strong communication skills

A 'can do' attitude

Experience of working on Projects

Weaknesses:

Poor time Management skills

Over ambitious nature which contributes to stress

Inability to adapt to winters in the UK

Opportunities:

To gain exposure in the Financial capital of the world(London)

Expand my knowledge and gain key business skills through MBA

To learn to be an effective researcher through P.G.D.M.S course

To be a part of elite CFA community.

Threats:

Uncertainty in the job markets

Redundancy in jobs in Financial services.

Growing number of CFA's leading to higher competition in the financial services job market.

What support do I need?

One cannot rule out the importance of obtaining support from others in implementation of PDP's. Gaining support from others/ professionals operating in pursuing the career of my choice will enable me follow the right track and benchmark with the best in the industry.

CFA Alumni: Local analyst societies have been an important means of championing the designation within the U.S. and abroad. Most members, in addition to becoming members of the CFA Institute, pay an annual fee to become members of their local societies. The societies provide support for CFA candidates attempting to pass the exams as well as for members wishing to stay on top of issues confronting the industry

Lecturers: I shall derive learning support and resources from my P.G,D.M.S and MBA lecturers to develop the necessary skills and pass my examinations.

Parents: My parents would provide me with the required financial resources and more importantly the moral support to pursue the career of my choice.

References:

[1] Leon Lioe (n.d) Overcoming Obstacles [blog] Available from: http://www.leonlioe.com/goal-setting/overcoming-obstacles-tips [Accessed 3/03/2009]

(2) the times London, april 1, 2008,Tuesday

(3) www.mindtools.com

4) human resource Management by Robert Dransfield

5) http://www.alan-quasha.com/Alan-Quasha-On-the-financial-crisis-0107

http://www.investopedia.com/articles/professionaleducation/08/CFA-continuing-education.asp

Task 3

Introduction

Staff at Finance 4 U is ignorant about their personal and professional development. Staff motivation and morale are low within the organisation, a dreadful symptom which can impede organisational development. The challenge on hand is to transform the attitude of staff members towards developing their personal and professional skills.

In order to address this issue of utmost importance the right path would be to benchmark with the best in the financial industry. Let us take time and consider three organisations providing financial services which have been successful in developing skills of their employees and throw some light on how their approach has been successful.

Organisation 1: KPMG

KPMG operates as an international network of member firms offering audit, tax and advisory services. KPMG works closely with their clients, helping them to mitigate risks and grasp opportunities.

In early 2008 KPMG was awarded an outstanding achievement award for training and development in the 50 Best Companies to Work for in Ireland.  This was achieved in recognition of the firm's commitment to excellence in training, creative approaches to identifying development needs and ensuring a best in class development programme. The skills, knowledge and capabilities of our people are absolutely central to the success of KPMG and so KPMG invests significant amounts of money, time and energy in developing our people.

Training includes on-the-job and formal training across the core functions of the firm:

Audit

Tax

Advisory

Organisation 2: Standard Chartered Bank

Headquartered in London, Standard Chartered Bank has local presence throughout seventeen countries on six continents and is the world's premier banking organisation focused on serving emerging markets. Standard Chartered's best strength based philosophy is one of the

corner stones of their approach to Talent Management. By identifying and leveraging an employee's talents into strengths, and then creating an environment in which these strengths

can flourish, standard chartered bank enables their employees to do what they can do the every day

Organisation 3: Zurich

Zurich Financial Services Group (Zurich) is an insurance-based financial services provider with a global network of subsidiaries and offices in North America and Europe as well as in Asia Pacific, Latin America and other markets. Founded in 1872, the Group is headquartered in Zurich, Switzerland. It employs approximately 60,000 people serving customers in more than 170 countries.

Outcomes of research:

The outcomes of research have been compiled in a presentation format.

Report to the Managing Director.

From: Sajid Syed,Manager Finance 4U

To:-Manager Finance 4U

Date: - 12th March 2009

Subject:- Recommendation on Employee Skill development

Objective:

To reform the attitude of the staff towards personal and professional development.

Introduction

We operate in an increasingly complex world, and the need for training and skills development has never been stronger.    Attracting, developing and retaining talented individuals is now a recognised issue that requires an urgent and proactive approach from insurance companies. We need to take a two pronged approach - not only getting new talent through the door, but also investing in the right level of training for our people.

In the first instance, we need to accept that there are some perceptions about our industry that are less than favourable.  These perceptions need to change if we are to appeal more not only to customers but also potential employees

My recommendations to redress the current situation at Finance 4U are appended as follows:

Perform a mandatory online pre- assessment of financial research and sales skills of our team members

Collaborate with professional training consultancies like huthwaite to design training modules

Technical and Behavioural training model, as followed by KPMG should be incorporated. This would enable the firm to grow on technical skills, at the same time produce leaders of tomorrow.

Every new Employee should receive a training plan self tailored to their individual needs and development

Emphasis on Development of E-Learning Modules. This not only keeps under control the cost of hiring trainers, but also offers 360 degree flexible learning

Training events and programmes to be evaluated to ensure they meet the objectives required. Courses should be updated and reviewed to ensure they meet the needs of the firm and individual development.

Encourage and sponsor deserving employees to pursue financial courses like Chartered Financial Analyst, MBA and Association of Chartered Certified Accountants.

The development programmes provided will create a work culture that encourages and supports effective lifelong learning and development- and in the changing world, where our organisation needs to stay one step ahead. Having people with a professional mindset and the right attitude towards personal development will make all the difference.

Prepared and submitted by

Sajid Syed,

Manager,

Finance 4U.

http://www.huthwaite.com.au/case-studies-standard-chartered-bank.html

http://www.corporatetraining.ie/training-case-study-kpmg.html

http://www.standardchartered.com/careers/job-opportunities/en/index.html

http://www.essortment.com/all/jobstraining_rshn.htm

http://www.trainingreference.co.uk/features/training_needs_analysis.htm

Task 4

Introduction

It is evident that if staff at finance 4 u is to work alongside the goals set by the Managing director, they need to improve their personal and professional skills. One way to achieve this is to look the methods available for skills development. I shall first conduct an analysis of the training methods used by the organisations selected in Task 3 and then demonstrate how CPD's contribute to skills development.

Analysis of measures used by KPMG

KPMG offers their employees fantastic opportunities to be personally stretched and challenged. Yes, KPMG makes a huge investment, but the business case is indisputable. Overall what makes KPMG's development and training programmes outstanding is:

The involvement of senior people in the programme

Partnering with best in class internal training providers

Continuous evaluation of training activity in line with the firm's business priorities

Training is relevant to people's work and aligned with their responsibilities.

Training is delivered by the people who are experts in their area and can draw on real experiences.

Development is delivered in a range of formats and forums to ensure they can be digested

Analysis of measures used by Standard Chartered Bank.

E-Learning modules provided by Learning@SCB programme enables trainees to choose the learning style that works the best for them. They are able to move at their own pace and have a great deal of ownership over their learning. However this can have a disadvantage of the trainees getting side tracked and move slower than the trainer desires. It is also difficult to measure trainees progress. Through participation in projects trainees get first hand experience in the topic of their training. Projects are chosen which solve problems or otherwise improve the operations. Little time is needed to prepare the training experience.

Analysis of measures used by Zurich

Building on its business strengths, Zurich has been offering aspired individuals a place for career success with a handful of training and development opportunities. The ZMP proposition has seen number of individuals passing these qualifications increase dramatically over the last two years from 62% at the end of 2004 to just over 80% in 2006.Lee Gladwell, CII Group Sales and Marketing Director, CII said "This is a landmark scheme for the CII as well as Zurich. The commitment by Zurich to provide every employee within its Claims, Underwriting and London Market teams with CII membership is extremely encouraging and demonstrates Zurich's commitment to the highest standards of professional practice. Not only will this be good for their business efficiency it will also help improve the industry's reputation with the consumer and, by demonstrating clear career paths, will motivate talented people to come and work in our industry."

Continuing Professional Development

Continuing Professional development has been described as "the maintenance and enhancement of the knowledge expertise and competence of professionals throughout their careers according to a plan formulated with regard to the need of the professional, the employer, the profession and society"(Madden and Mitchell 1993, p12)

CPD is a combination of approaches, ideas and techniques that will help individuals manage their own learning and growth. The focus of CPD is firmly on results - the benefits that professional development can bring in the real world. Perhaps the most important message is that one size doesn't fit all. Wherever you are in your career now, and whatever you want to achieve, your CPD should be exactly that: yours.

Zurich and Continuing Professional Development

Zurich Insurance Building Guarantee has signed a Training Partnership agreement with the CIOB(Chartered Institute of Building), committing the department to a long-term strategy of training and continuing professional development (CPD) for their technical employees. Zurich inculcates

Continuing Professional development of its employees through:-

Offering free faculty related CPD events at Zurich UK premises per annum.

Free access to CII regional CPD events

Free access to CII knowledge service

Benefits of CPD to Employees

The benefits of CPD aren't just felt when you're going for promotion or upgrading to chartered membership. Many employers now value 'learning agility' as a core competency. 

Build confidence and credibility, you can see your progression by tracking your learning.

Earn more by showcasing your achievements. A handy tool for appraisals.

Achieve your career goals by focussing on your training and development.

Cope positively with change by constantly updating your skill set.

Be more productive and efficient by reflecting on your learning and highlighting gaps in your knowledge and experience.

Benefits of CPD to organisations

As organisations shift the responsibility for personal development back to the individual, the ability and insight to manage your own professional growth is seen as a key strength.

Helps maximise staff potential by linking learning to actions and theory to practice.

Helps HR professionals to set SMART (specific, measurable, achievable, realistic and time-bound) objectives, for training activity to be more closely linked to business needs.

Promotes staff development. This leads to better staff morale and a motivated workforce helps give a positive image/brand to organisations.

Adds-value, by reflecting it will help staff to consciously apply learning to their role and the organisation's development.

Linking to appraisals. This is a good tool to help employees focus their achievements throughout the year.

http://www.essortment.com/all/jobstraining_rshn.htm

http://www.corporatetraining.ie/training-case-study-kpmg.html

http://www.sld.demon.co.uk/cpd.pdf

http://www.cipd.co.uk

Task 5

Objective

The objective of the task is to pay attention to the background and areas of work of 7 different individuals employed at Finance 4 u, prepare a skills audit form and carry out appropriate skills audit on each of the team members.

Introduction

According to Peter drucker ,

"No organization can depend on genius; the supply is always scarce and unreliable. It is the test of an organization to make ordinary human beings perform better than they seem capable of, to bring out whatever strength there is in its members, and to use each one's strength to help all the others perform. The purpose of an organization is to enable common people to do uncommon things."

Encouraging the employees to develop their personal skills would go a long way towards contributing to the organisational development at finance4u. As a manager at finance for through this document I shall prepare a skills audit framework and introduce creative techniques of ensuring a 100% contribution from employees.

The Creative Finance Professional's Challenge

The Creative Finance professional challenge would be an exciting week long experience designed to conduct skills audit of the employees and incline them towards developing those skills which are important to succeed as a finance professional. This would provide an opportunity to the employees and the management to identify their strengths and weaknesses. If employees point out certain areas in which they need support the training and development team would incorporate this in their training modules.

SKILLS AUDIT FORM: A head start to THE CREATIVE FINANCE PROFESSIONAL'S CHALLENGE

The following skills audit form has been designed for the employees keeping in mind a list of skills which are significant to their development in the field of finance and their personal development and progress within the organisation

How to complete the Form

Employees are supposed to read each statement and rank how far they agree with the statement on a scale of 1 to 5 wherein 1 would mean that they definitely agree and have a high level of confidence and 5 would mean that they do not agree at all.

Name

John Matthew

Department

Equity research

Designation

Finance associates

Education Level

ACCA

Read each statement and rank how far you agree with the statement on a scale of 1 to 5.

1 = definitely agree (high level of confidence)

5 = do not agree at all (low level of confidence)

SKILLS AREA

1

2

3

4

5

ORGANISATION

I am able to plan and manage my time

I can effectively prioritise tasks and activities

I am able to work to deadlines

LEADERSHIP

I am good at leading people

I remain calm under pressure

RESEARCH SKILLS

I am able to use a variety of different sources to find information

(e.g. journals. books, electronic resources)

I am able to access the Internet and to search electronic resources (on-line databases, electronic journals CD-ROMs)

I am able to evaluate the information I find

WRITING SKILLS

I am confident I can express my ideas clearly in written form

I am able to adapt my writing styles to suit the appropriate media/audience

SPOKEN COMMUNICATION

I am able to express my views verbally

I am confident speaking in front of a group of people

I can prepare, plan and deliver a presentation

I can use visual aids to support a presentation

GROUP WORK

I work well as a member of a group or team

I am able to listen to and appreciate the views of others

ENTREPRENEURIAL SKILLS

I am good at taking the initiative

I can persuade people to see my point of view

I am a good negotiator

I am good at meeting new people

I am good at managing projects

I am good at making decisions under pressure

I can undertake basic financial planning

I can evaluate risks in relation to projects / businesses

I am good at working in competitive environments

SWOT Analysis for John

Strengths

Weaknesses

Strong Communication skills

Efficient time management skills

Has the qualifications and expertise to progress in financial research

Strong research skills

Poor work ethics

Too Emotional

Does not get involved in team activities

Opportunities

Threats

Financial markets are in needs of set of skills possessed by him

Equity research department at Finance4u has been growing tremendously since the last 2 years

Not preferred by the work mates and managers due to an aggressive nature.

Recommendations for improvement

John has the right skills to pursue a successful career in the financial services sector. He has sharp research and communication skills which are a requisite to pursue a successful career in Finance. John has to learn to be a team person so that he is recommended and accepted by his workmates/colleagues at work. He has to respect the opinions of others at work and indulge in team activities. Only then would he be recommended and accepted by his workmates and managers at supervisory positions.

Name

Alex Conskey

Department

Insurance

Designation

Sales officer

Education Level

Bachelors in Business Administration

Read each statement and rank how far you agree with the statement on a scale of 1 to 5.

1 = definitely agree (high level of confidence)

5 = do not agree at all (low level of confidence)

SKILLS AREA

1

2

3

4

5

ORGANISATION

I am able to plan and manage my time

I can effectively prioritise tasks and activities

I am able to work to deadlines

LEADERSHIP

I am good at leading people

I remain calm under pressure

RESEARCH SKILLS

I am able to use a variety of different sources to find information

(e.g. journals. books, electronic resources)

I am able to access the Internet and to search electronic resources (on-line databases, electronic journals CD-ROMs)

I am able to evaluate the information I find

WRITING SKILLS

I am confident I can express my ideas clearly in written form

I am able to adapt my writing styles to suit the appropriate media/audience

SPOKEN COMMUNICATION

I am able to express my views verbally

I am confident speaking in front of a group of people

I can prepare, plan and deliver a presentation

I can use visual aids to support a presentation

GROUP WORK

I work well as a member of a group or team

I am able to listen to and appreciate the views of others

ENTREPRENEURIAL SKILLS

I am good at taking the initiative

I can persuade people to see my point of view

I am a good negotiator

I am good at meeting new people

I am good at managing projects

I am good at making decisions under pressure

I can undertake basic financial planning

I can evaluate risks in relation to projects / businesses

I am good at working in competitive environments

Strengths

Weaknesses

Time Management skills

Good at working under pressure

Consistently achieves sales targets

Can persuade people to see his point of view

Weak in conducting research

Inability to prioritise tasks and hence sits in office for long hours

Weak in stress management

Opportunities

Threats

He is the senior most insurance associate

Managers find him dependable and are keen to promote him to the next level

Competitors within the organisation who went to school with better reputations

Limited professional development in the insurance sector which would keep his work repetitive

Recommendations for Alex

Alex is a hard working individual. Though he has higher chances of promotion he must along with his insurance career pursue professional development courses like CFA, FIPM or ACCA. This would help him widen his horizons and work in more interesting financial skillsets of corporate finance, equity research or investment banking. The fact that Alex is experienced and respected by his managers too, he would not find difficulties taking an internal transfer to any of these departments.

Name

Chris Hayden

Department

Team Leader

Designation

Equity Research

Education Level

Masters in commerce

Read each statement and rank how far you agree with the statement on a scale of 1 to 5.

1 = definitely agree (high level of confidence)

5 = do not agree at all (low level of confidence)

SKILLS AREA

1

2

3

4

5

ORGANISATION

I am able to plan and manage my time

I can effectively prioritise tasks and activities

I am able to work to deadlines

LEADERSHIP

I am good at leading people

I remain calm under pressure

RESEARCH SKILLS

I am able to use a variety of different sources to find information

(e.g. journals. books, electronic resources)

I am able to access the Internet and to search electronic resources (on-line databases, electronic journals CD-ROMs)

I am able to evaluate the information I find

WRITING SKILLS

I am confident I can express my ideas clearly in written form

I am able to adapt my writing styles to suit the appropriate media/audience

SPOKEN COMMUNICATION

I am able to express my views verbally

I am confident speaking in front of a group of people

I can prepare, plan and deliver a presentation

I can use visual aids to support a presentation

GROUP WORK

I work well as a member of a group or team

I am able to listen to and appreciate the views of others

ENTREPRENEURIAL SKILLS

I am good at taking the initiative

I can persuade people to see my point of view

I am a good negotiator

I am good at meeting new people

I am good at managing projects

I am good at making decisions under pressure

I can undertake basic financial planning

I can evaluate risks in relation to projects / businesses

I am good at working in competitive environments

Strengths

Weaknesses

Strong leadership skills

Can work under pressure

Ability to work to deadlines

Passion for finance

Enthusiasm and drive to succeed

Strong presentation skills

Good communicator at all levels

Family problems

Shyness

Opportunities

Threats

Good past performances which may lead to promotions

Most experienced team leader in the organisation

Other experienced team leaders who are much more qualified are competing for promotions.

Recommendations for Chris

Chris should continue putting the same level of efforts in his work. Even though he has less qualifications he has a strong experience working in the financial domain which enlarge his future prospects. Chris is seen as an ideal candidate. He is preferred by his managers to take on further challenging roles as and when they arise within the organisation

Name

Hasam Mohammed

Department

Investment Banking

Designation

Finance Associate

Education Level

CFA, Bachelors degree in Accounting and Finance

Read each statement and rank how far you agree with the statement on a scale of 1 to 5.

1 = definitely agree (high level of confidence)

5 = do not agree at all (low level of confidence)

SKILLS AREA

1

2

3

4

5

ORGANISATION

I am able to plan and manage my time

I can effectively prioritise tasks and activities

I am able to work to deadlines

LEADERSHIP

I am good at leading people

I remain calm under pressure

RESEARCH SKILLS

I am able to use a variety of different sources to find information

(e.g. journals. books, electronic resources)

I am able to access the Internet and to search electronic resources (on-line databases, electronic journals CD-ROMs)

I am able to evaluate the information I find

WRITING SKILLS

I am confident I can express my ideas clearly in written form

I am able to adapt my writing styles to suit the appropriate media/audience

SPOKEN COMMUNICATION

I am able to express my views verbally

I am confident speaking in front of a group of people

I can prepare, plan and deliver a presentation

I can use visual aids to support a presentation

GROUP WORK

I work well as a member of a group or team

I am able to listen to and appreciate the views of others

ENTREPRENEURIAL SKILLS

I am good at taking the initiative

I can persuade people to see my point of view

I am a good negotiator

I am good at meeting new people

I am good at managing projects

I am good at making decisions under pressure

I can undertake basic financial planning

I can evaluate risks in relation to projects / businesses

I am good at working in competitive environments

Strengths

Weaknesses

Negotiating skills

Strong research skills

Communication skills

Self motivator

Strong technical skills

Good rapport with Investment banking clients

Poor work ethics

Unpunctual

Negative trends in the growth in the investment banking industry

Opportunities

Threats

Financial markets are in needs of set of skills possessed by him

Name

Freddy Dias

Department

Professor

Designation

Business Studies

Education Level

Masters in Education

Read each statement and rank how far you agree with the statement on a scale of 1 to 5.

1 = definitely agree (high level of confidence)

5 = do not agree at all (low level of confidence)

SKILLS AREA

1

2

3

4

5

ORGANISATION

I am able to plan and manage my time

I can effectively prioritise tasks and activities

I am able to work to deadlines

LEADERSHIP

I am good at leading people

I remain calm under pressure

RESEARCH SKILLS

I am able to use a variety of different sources to find information

(e.g. journals. books, electronic resources)

I am able to access the Internet and to search electronic resources (on-line databases, electronic journals CD-ROMs)

I am able to evaluate the information I find

WRITING SKILLS

I am confident I can express my ideas clearly in written form

I am able to adapt my writing styles to suit the appropriate media/audience

SPOKEN COMMUNICATION

I am able to express my views verbally

I am confident speaking in front of a group of people

I can prepare, plan and deliver a presentation

I can use visual aids to support a presentation

GROUP WORK

I work well as a member of a group or team

I am able to listen to and appreciate the views of others

ENTREPRENEURIAL SKILLS

I am good at taking the initiative

I can persuade people to see my point of view

I am a good negotiator

I am good at meeting new people

I am good at managing projects

I am good at making decisions under pressure

I can undertake basic financial planning

I can evaluate risks in relation to projects / businesses

I am good at working in competitive environments

Strengths

Weaknesses

Strong Communication skills

Efficient time management skills

Has the qualifications and expertise to progress in financial research

Poor work ethics

Too Emotional

Does not get involved in team activities

Opportunities

Threats

Financial markets are in needs of set of skills possessed by him

Name

Freddy Dias

Department

Professor

Designation

Business Studies

Education Level

Masters in Education

Read each statement and rank how far you agree with the statement on a scale of 1 to 5.

1 = definitely agree (high level of confidence)

5 = do not agree at all (low level of confidence)

SKILLS AREA

1

2

3

4

5

ORGANISATION

I am able to plan and manage my time

I can effectively prioritise tasks and activities

I am able to work to deadlines

LEADERSHIP

I am good at leading people

I remain calm under pressure

RESEARCH SKILLS

I am able to use a variety of different sources to find information

(e.g. journals. books, electronic resources)

I am able to access the Internet and to search electronic resources (on-line databases, electronic journals CD-ROMs)

I am able to evaluate the information I find

WRITING SKILLS

I am confident I can express my ideas clearly in written form

I am able to adapt my writing styles to suit the appropriate media/audience

SPOKEN COMMUNICATION

I am able to express my views verbally

I am confident speaking in front of a group of people

I can prepare, plan and deliver a presentation

I can use visual aids to support a presentation

GROUP WORK

I work well as a member of a group or team

I am able to listen to and appreciate the views of others

ENTREPRENEURIAL SKILLS

I am good at taking the initiative

I can persuade people to see my point of view

I am a good negotiator

I am good at meeting new people

I am good at managing projects

I am good at making decisions under pressure

I can undertake basic financial planning

I can evaluate risks in relation to projects / businesses

I am good at working in competitive environments

Strengths

Weaknesses

Strong Communication skills

Efficient time management skills

Has the qualifications and expertise to progress in financial research

Poor work ethics

Too Emotional

Does not get involved in team activities

Opportunities

Threats

Financial markets are in needs of set of skills possessed by him

Name

Freddy Dias

Department

Professor

Designation

Business Studies

Education Level

Masters in Education

Read each statement and rank how far you agree with the statement on a scale of 1 to 5.

1 = definitely agree (high level of confidence)

5 = do not agree at all (low level of confidence)

SKILLS AREA

1

2

3

4

5

ORGANISATION

I am able to plan and manage my time

I can effectively prioritise tasks and activities

I am able to work to deadlines

LEADERSHIP

I am good at leading people

I remain calm under pressure

RESEARCH SKILLS

I am able to use a variety of different sources to find information

(e.g. journals. books, electronic resources)

I am able to access the Internet and to search electronic resources (on-line databases, electronic journals CD-ROMs)

I am able to evaluate the information I find

WRITING SKILLS

I am confident I can express my ideas clearly in written form

I am able to adapt my writing styles to suit the appropriate media/audience

SPOKEN COMMUNICATION

I am able to express my views verbally

I am confident speaking in front of a group of people

I can prepare, plan and deliver a presentation

I can use visual aids to support a presentation

GROUP WORK

I work well as a member of a group or team

I am able to listen to and appreciate the views of others

ENTREPRENEURIAL SKILLS

I am good at taking the initiative

I can persuade people to see my point of view

I am a good negotiator

I am good at meeting new people

I am good at managing projects

I am good at making decisions under pressure

I can undertake basic financial planning

I can evaluate risks in relation to projects / businesses

I am good at working in competitive environments

Strengths

Weaknesses

Strong Communication skills

Efficient time management skills

Has the qualifications and expertise to progress in financial research

Poor work ethics

Too Emotional

Does not get involved in team activities

Opportunities

Threats

Financial markets are in needs of set of skills possessed by him

Name

Freddy Dias

Department

Professor

Designation

Business Studies

Education Level

Masters in Education

Read each statement and rank how far you agree with the statement on a scale of 1 to 5.

1 = definitely agree (high level of confidence)

5 = do not agree at all (low level of confidence)

SKILLS AREA

1

2

3

4

5

ORGANISATION

I am able to plan and manage my time

I can effectively prioritise tasks and activities

I am able to work to deadlines

LEADERSHIP

I am good at leading people

I remain calm under pressure

RESEARCH SKILLS

I am able to use a variety of different sources to find information

(e.g. journals. books, electronic resources)

I am able to access the Internet and to search electronic resources (on-line databases, electronic journals CD-ROMs)

I am able to evaluate the information I find

WRITING SKILLS

I am confident I can express my ideas clearly in written form

I am able to adapt my writing styles to suit the appropriate media/audience

SPOKEN COMMUNICATION

I am able to express my views verbally

I am confident speaking in front of a group of people

I can prepare, plan and deliver a presentation

I can use visual aids to support a presentation

GROUP WORK

I work well as a member of a group or team

I am able to listen to and appreciate the views of others

ENTREPRENEURIAL SKILLS

I am good at taking the initiative

I can persuade people to see my point of view

I am a good negotiator

I am good at meeting new people

I am good at managing projects

I am good at making decisions under pressure

I can undertake basic financial planning

I can evaluate risks in relation to projects / businesses

I am good at working in competitive environments

Strengths

Weaknesses

Strong Communication skills

Efficient time management skills

Has the qualifications and expertise to progress in financial research

Poor work ethics

Too Emotional

Does not get involved in team activities

Opportunities

Threats

Financial markets are in needs of set of skills possessed by him

Writing Services

Essay Writing
Service

Find out how the very best essay writing service can help you accomplish more and achieve higher marks today.

Assignment Writing Service

From complicated assignments to tricky tasks, our experts can tackle virtually any question thrown at them.

Dissertation Writing Service

A dissertation (also known as a thesis or research project) is probably the most important piece of work for any student! From full dissertations to individual chapters, we’re on hand to support you.

Coursework Writing Service

Our expert qualified writers can help you get your coursework right first time, every time.

Dissertation Proposal Service

The first step to completing a dissertation is to create a proposal that talks about what you wish to do. Our experts can design suitable methodologies - perfect to help you get started with a dissertation.

Report Writing
Service

Reports for any audience. Perfectly structured, professionally written, and tailored to suit your exact requirements.

Essay Skeleton Answer Service

If you’re just looking for some help to get started on an essay, our outline service provides you with a perfect essay plan.

Marking & Proofreading Service

Not sure if your work is hitting the mark? Struggling to get feedback from your lecturer? Our premium marking service was created just for you - get the feedback you deserve now.

Exam Revision
Service

Exams can be one of the most stressful experiences you’ll ever have! Revision is key, and we’re here to help. With custom created revision notes and exam answers, you’ll never feel underprepared again.